Google Reader changes
Posted by Gautam
After coming under fire for lack of privacy, Google Reader quickly rolled out changes. As the Reader Help Center says:
If any of your friends on Google Talk are using Reader and sharing
items, they’ll automatically show up in the Google Reader sidebar under
Friends’ shared items. You can read these items in a
combined list, or click the “+” icon to expand the list and see the
shared items from each of your friends. Your friends will also be able
to see that you’re using Reader. If you’re sharing items, they’ll be
able to see those in their Reader sidebars as well.
If you don’t want to see shared items from any particular friend,
you can hide their items from your list; just click on the friend’s
name and click the Hide button. If you decide later that you want to see them again, just visit the Friends tab in Settings,
where you’ll find “show” and “hide” options for all your friends. You
can also use Settings to see which of your friends aren’t using Reader
yet and encourage them to start by sending them a link to your shared
Prompt on Google’s part to act on the feedback, but would this ensure that people with privacy concerns who had moved to other web based RSS aggregators like Bloglines would move back to Google reader? Specially with Bloglines Beta bringing sexy back?
Powered by ScribeFire.
About GautamGautam is a HR professional interested in how emerging technologies are impacting work, careers and organizations.
Comments are closed.